About Us

East Dakota Water Development District


The East Dakota Water Development District (EDWDD) is a political subdivision of the State. The purpose, duties, functions and other controls relating to water development districts are found in South Dakota Codified Laws Chapters 46A-3A through 46A-3E. The districts have a broad mandate to work to promote the conservation, development and proper management of water resources within their respective boundaries. On a practical level, almost any activity involving water can be considered by the districts. Water development districts have no regulatory authority. EDWDD has been in existence since 1963.

EDWDD is one of seven water development districts in the state. EDWDD consists of all of Grant, Codington, Deuel, Hamlin, Brookings, Kingsbury, Lake, Moody, and Minnehaha Counties, the eastern half of Miner County, and that portion of the City of Sioux Falls that is located in Lincoln County.

EDWDD is authorized by (SDCL-46A-3E-1) to levy taxes within the District. The District's tax levy can not exceed thirty cents per thousand dollars of taxable valuation (0.3 mill). EDWDD's 2017 tax levy (payable in 2018) is $723,600 (0.025 mill) which is collected over the entire District area. 


Friend of Rural Water Award


EDWDD Brochure

Contact Us

East Dakota Water Development District

132B Airport Avenue

Brookings, SD 57006

(605) 688-6741 

(605) 688-6744  fax